Nature on my doorstep

I know I’ve been away for a long time (has it really been four months?) but I have a good reason. I have just moved from Durham in the north of England all the way to Wales where I am working on a PhD project looking the effects of urban noise. It’s all very interesting and a lot of fun. Wales is also a beautiful place with lots of amazing countryside to explore and unique animals to see. I will talk more about my research soon but today I wanted to share a few pictures that I took while walking home from the beach this afternoon.

If you live in the UK you will know just how wet it has been recently, I don’t think I’ve seen the sun for two weeks and there is water everywhere. That’s why when I woke up this morning and saw the sun I planned to get out and make the most of it. There is a footpath that runs from just by my house and along the cliff tops by the beach. The views are fantastic and it is a great place to see seabirds wheeling and diving out in the bay, red kites flying overhead and I’m told that come summer it will also be possible to see dolphins swimming just offshore which I am inordinately excited about.

Thinking today would be a good opportunity for some wildlife photography I took my camera with me for a walk along the coast and managed to get what I think are some great shots of the town and a house sparrow (Passer domesticus*) perching in some bushes. I’ll be back with some proper posts soon but for now here are some pictures for you to enjoy. Ten points to whoever can guess the name of the town (without looking at my about page).

House sparrow (Passer domesticus) (7)

House sparrow (Passer domesticus) (3)

House sparrow (Passer domesticus) (4)

House sparrow (Passer domesticus) (5)

House sparrow (Passer domesticus) (6) _MG_0006

* Incidentally the house sparrow is the type species after which all song birds (Passerines) are named.

4 responses to “Nature on my doorstep

  1. Sam, you’ve moved into an area I know well. There are a couple of pods of dolphins in that part of the Cambrian Coast, and also porpoises as well. I hope you enjoy it in Aberystwyth.

    • Hi Paul, I’m enjoying Aberystwyth so far, it’s a really beautiful area. I haven’t seen any dolphins or porpoises yet but I’ve heard the spring and summer are the best times to look, I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for them.

Leave a Reply

